Contributors

By Brian Reavey, April 9, 2014

Contributor Profile | The Homemaker & Pet Rescuer

This post is one in a weekly series in which we highlight one of the many amazing and diverse people who work on CrowdFlower tasks.  There are many stories hidden within the world’s largest workforce. This is just one.

Billie V

Meet Billie V.

The Homemaker and Pet Rescuer

Shannon, MS USA

Describe your hometown:

I live in a small town in Mississippi with a population of approximately 1600. We have several corn and bean farms in our area, and lots of cattle and horses.

What kind of work do you like to do when you are not microtasking online?

I’m a homemaker, so I stay busy taking care of the house, my husband and youngest daughter. We also have eight dogs and four cats. All are rescues that we couldn’t find suitable homes for, so we kept them. They can be quite a handful at times!

For approximately eight months a year I garden. I have a large garden where I grow all sorts of vegetables. During harvest season I am picking, cleaning, chopping and canning. It keeps me busy and I love it!

Being a homemaker is very rewarding, and it does keep me very busy, especially during gardening season.

What CrowdFlower Jobs do you enjoy the most? And why?

I really enjoy the “Pick the Best Product Group” type tasks, especially the home and garden ones. They just seem to fit me well. I could spend all day doing those if CrowdFlower would let me! I also like those because they don’t require much typing, which can be very difficult for me at times due to arthritis in my hands.

What advice would you give other people interested in working on microtasks?

Take your time, be accurate with your work, and just DO them. Take the skill tests when they become available to increase the work you get. Don’t ignore the low value tasks — they go quickly and the money adds up just as quickly.

What do you do for fun? (when you’re not tasking, of course)

I enjoy gardening, cooking and reading. I like just spending time with my family and thoroughly enjoy spoiling my grandson when he comes to visit 🙂 He’s my little man!

If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would you go and why?

I have always wanted to go to China. I’d love to just wander through the streets, especially in the older cities, and try REAL Chinese food from the street vendors and small restaurants. China is so full of history and culture and I would love to absorb some of that. Another place I’d like to see is Alaska. It’s so vast and untouched and I’m sure it would be very beautiful.

What is something that you have always dreamt of doing?

I’ve always wanted to learn to fly a plane. The ability to soar through the air is so fascinating and fun! I’d also like to try skydiving just once. The feeling of freedom must be incredible!

Is there anything else you’d like to tell us about yourself?

I’m a married homemaker with four grown children and one teenage daughter. I also have one grandson. We rescue abandoned pets and try to find good homes for them. I earn money online in my spare time.